SASKATCHEWAN

LEADERS OF THE OFFICIAL OPPOSITION IN THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

Sessions

1906 - 1912	Frederick William Gordon Haultain	PR
1912 – 1917	Wellington Bartley Willoughby	Cons
1917 – 1920	Donald MacLean	Cons
1923	John Archibald Maharg	Ind
1924 – 1925	Harris Turner	Ind
1925 – 1929	Charles Ernest Tran	Prog
	James Thomas Milton Anderson	Cons
1929 – 1934	James Garfield Gardiner	Lib
1934 – 1940	George Hara Williams	CCF
1941 – 1944	John Hewgill Brockelbank	CCF
1944 – 1948	William John Patterson	Lib
1949 – 1953	Walter Adam Tucker	Lib
1954	Asmundur A. Loptson	Lib
1955 – 1960	Alexander Hamilton MacDonald	Lib
1961 – 1964	Wilbert Ross Thatcher	Lib
1965 – 1970	Woodrow Stanley Lloyd	CCF-NDP
1970 – 1971	Allan Emrys Blakeney	NDP
1971 – 1976	David Gordon Steuart	Lib
1976 – 1977	Edward Cyril Malone	Lib
1977 – 1978	Edward Cyril Malone	Lib
	Richard Lee Collver	PC
1978 – 1979	Richard Lee Collver	PC
1979 – 1982	Eric Arthur Berntson	PC
1982 – 1987	Allan Emrys Blakeney	NDP
1987 – 1991	Roy John Romanow	NDP
1991 – 1992	Donald Grant Devine	PC
1993 – 1994	Richard James Swenson	PC
1994 – 1995	Bill Boyd	PC
1995	Lynda Maureen Haverstock	Lib
1995 – 1996	Ron Osika	Lib
1996 – 1997	Kenneth Patrick Krawetz	Lib
1997 – 1999	Kenneth Patrick Krawetz	SP
1999 – 2003	Elwin Norris Hermanson	SP
2004 - 2007	Brad Wall	SP
2007 - 2009	Lorne Albert Calvert	NDP
2009	Len Taylor	NDP
2009 - 2011	Dwain Lingenfelter	NDP
2011 - 2013	John Nilson	NDP
2013 - 2016	Cam Broten	NDP
2016 - 2017	Trent Wotherspoon	NDP
2017 - 2018	Nicole Sarauer	NDP
2018 - 2022	Ryan Meili	NDP
2022 -	Carla Beck	NDP

NOTE – There was no designated Leader of the Opposition for the sessions of 1921 and 1922. In the period 1925-1929 C.E. Tran and J.T.M. Anderson were paid equal allowances as Leaders of the Opposition.

The Saskatchewan CCF officially became the Saskatchewan NDP on November 25, 1967.

From June 24, 1977 E.C. Malone and R.L. Collver were paid equal allowances as Leader of the Liberal Opposition and Progressive Conservative Opposition respectively.

Mr. Richard James Swenson was designated Leader of the Opposition on January 1, 1993.

Ms. Lynda Haverstock resigned as Leader of the Opposition on November 12, 1995.

Mr. Ron Osika was designated Leader of the Opposition on November 15, 1995.

Mr. Kenneth Krawetz was designated Leader of the Opposition on December 6, 1996.

Mr. Kenneth Krawetz was designated Leader of the Opposition in August 1997.